29. Learn to cook well- Lemon Lovely Desert

28 May

Number 29 on my bucket list is going to be an indefinite work in progress. Learning to cook is something that I have struggled with essentially my whole life. Living in an apartment at school my senior year and having to cook some meals for myself helped with my confidence in the kitchen; realistically though I only cooked a hand full of times. I basically lived off of peanut butter toast for a year.

With a little kitchen confidence I came home after graduation and kept my unemployed self-busy cleaning, reading, applying for endless countless jobs, helping with the construction of the addition to our house and you guessed it cooking dinner. My Mom loved coming home to dinner made after work and I had nothing else to do so I would look up recipes and make them. Simple as that. And 99% of the time they were not only eatable but good. Too bad I didn’t blog about them…oh well.1

To kick off my bucket list to “cooking well” is a desert I made for Memorial Day/Mom’s birthday. Lemon Lovely’s cream cheese pie.  My sister Kelly sent me the recipe and it sounded easy enough, no baking involved, so I picked up all the ingredients and set to work! I’m going to include the recipe so if you try to make this know three things:

1)      It is easy to make

2)      It is quite tasty

3)      Don’t panic when it looks like a soupy watery mess.

66So I’m chugging along following the directions for this recipe…I crushed up the cookies for the crust and they looked a little dry so I added more butter and flattened them into the pan then made the jello that’s nice and easy, started to whip up the cream cheese and that’s going fine…then I add the liquid jello and now my heart starts to race. I double check the directions I appear to be doing this correctly  but it just looks weird! It’s so runny I’m positive at this point it’s going to totally flop. After mixing in the whip cream it looks a little better…maybe this will be okay? I mean jello does set up it won’t stay this runny….after covering the runny “pie” I put it in the fridge to hopefully set up but just in case it doesn’t? I made a pan of brownies.

I made the pie a day before we needed it but I think the recipe only says 4 hours to set up. Either way I took both the homemade “pie” and back-up-brownies to the cook out, set them on the table and walked away fingers crossed. The pie was a total hit! One of the girls was standing over the empty ceramic dish with a spoon scraping what was left out. The back-up-brownies were totally devoured  too.  I have to admit it was amusing. I think my next cooking adventure will be cupcakes for work, I saw an idea on Pinterest that was just too cute to pass up. 55

Here is the recipe if you want a tasty treat:

30 square shortbread cookies, finely crushed (about 2 cups)

3 Tbsp.  margarine, melted

¾ cup  boiling water

1 pkg.  (3 oz.) JELL-O Lemon Flavor Gelatin

1 cup  ice cubes

1 pkg.  (8 oz.) PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened

¼ cup  sugar

1 tub  (8 oz.) COOL WHIP Whipped Topping, thawed, divided

1 cup  fresh blueberries

Make it

LINE 13×9-inch pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides. Mix cookie crumbs and margarine; press onto bottom of prepared pan. Refrigerate until ready to use.

ADD boiling water to gelatin mix; stir 2 min. until completely dissolved. Add ice; stir until melted. Beat cream cheese and sugar in large bowl with mixer until blended. Gradually beat in gelatin. Whisk in 2 cups COOL WHIP; pour over crust.

REFRIGERATE 4 hours or until firm. Serve topped with remaining COOL WHIP and berries.7

http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/lemon-lovelies-143704.aspx

Leave a Reply

