Just Like Dust We Settle In This Town

17 Jul

Printer-Orn-musical-Graphics-Fairy-bk

I have been listening to this song all summer and I really enjoy it but I also relate to it so completely. No I don’t have a brother, and my dad only has eyes for my mom… but my mom definitely has a thing for Mary Kay! In all seriousness where I can relate is the frustration of being single when it seems everyone else around you is married with kids. When this song comes on I crank the radio up!

I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again. My closest most treasured friends who are married with kids are not the women I am referring to; but there are so many people that I am convinced got married because that’s “what you do”. It’s what your parents did, it’s all they know. And then there they are not even thirty married with kids and looking at their life thinking “man I missed out on a lot because I jumped the gun on this chapter.”

It’s something I think Americans are specifically guilty of; we are constantly rushing every phase of our lives, hurry and stop being a kid, hurry and stop being a teen, hurry and graduate, hurry an land that job hurry an get a better one…hurry, hurry, hustle…

If you’re in love and with the person you want to be with it only makes sense to get married…but what if you didn’t? What if you chose to stay together but still go and do and see and experience; growing up more in the process…why not wait to have the wedding and kids?

I’m 25, I have an adult job, I make my own money, I have a college degree…yes I still live at home and that is probably a major factor but I don’t feel at all ready for marriage and kids; and this is an honest truth. Do I want that, of course! But I don’t feel qualified to make those kinds of decisions right now. “Forever” Is a long time. So if I, and I feel mature and responsible, can admit that “hey I don’t think I’m mature enough for that life style yet”, why is it that women who are sometimes vastly unprepared for the commitment and responsibility of wife and mother, think that they are?

Are people really not stopping to consider everything they’re about to do? You’re adding another human to this planet if you’re not prepared to pay bills, clean, cook, work, and exhibit values, morals, and good ol’ common sense in yourself how do you think you can instill those society functioning skills into another person?

My mom specifically likes to say that I just don’t understand because I’ve never been in love. That may be the case…but I don’t think I’ll ever understand why some people chuck logic and responsibility out the window when they’re “in love”. I don’t want to lose control like that, seems impractical. “Well love isn’t about being practical”. Sigh there really is no way to win this argument; but I’ll give you this visual: I don’t know if this is the case everywhere but it sure is where I live. People who go on vacation forget that there are laws, and rules, and common curtsey in their travels and destination as much as there is at home…so why act like a fool just for the fun of it? You wouldn’t drive like a grandma, trash the room where you sleep or walk down the middle of the road to take photos at home so why do it on vacation? It’s an experience I get that, but keep your head on. I’d also be willing to bet your overall experience would be more enjoyable, both on vacation and in relationships, if you act like your regular, rational, authentic self.

Amusing how a simple country song created this whole circle of questions! The video is below; have a listen it really is a great song.

Kacey Musgraves Mary Go Round Lyrics

If you ain’t got two kids by 21,
You’re probably gonna die alone
At least that’s what tradition told you.

And it don’t matter if you don’t believe,
Come Sunday morning you best be there
In the front row, like you’re s’posed to.

Same hurt in every heart.
Same trailer, different park.

Mamas hooked on Mary Kay
Brothers hooked on Mary Jane
And Daddy’s hooked on Mary two doors down.

Mary Mary quite contrary,
We get bored so we get married
And just like dust we settle in this town.
On this broken merry go ’round and ’round and ’round we go,
Where it stops nobody knows…
And it ain’t slowin’ down, this merry go ’round

We think the first time’s good enough,
So we hold on to high school love,
Say we won’t end up like our parents.

Tiny little boxes in a row,
Ain’t what you want it’s what you know,
Just happy in the shoes you’re wearin’.

Same checks we’re always cashin’,
To buy a little more distraction.

Cause Mamas hooked on Mary Kay
Brothers hooked on Mary Jane
Daddys hooked on Mary two doors down.

Mary Mary quite contrary,
We get bored so we get married
And just like dust we settle in this town.
On this broken merry go ’round and ’round and ’round we go,
Where it stops nobody knows…
And it ain’t slowin’ down, this merry go ’round…

Mary Mary quite contrary,
We’re so bored until we’re buried.
And just like dust we settle in this town.
On this broken merry go ’round…
Merry go ’round…

Jack and Jill went up the hill,
Jack burned out on booze and pills,
And Mary had a little lamb,
Mary just don’t give a damn no more.

Leave a Reply

