3. Fill up your DVR with all the stupid reality shows you love

7 Aug

555I have a dirty little secret. I watch The Bachelor and The Bachelorette; I’ll pause for a moment for your disapproving gasp of shock…okay now that you’re back let me explain. I started watching The Bachelorette my junior year of college as a one hour escape from my real life girl drama. It helped put the drama I was experiencing into perspective.

Honestly watching a ridiculous show is liberating. I used to think that love and happiness were directly tied to a person’s level of success and their outer beauty. Sounds silly I know but I think that statement is true to everyone who is being really honest with themselves. Our culture loves the love story we idolize it. Our super heroes have a love interest, our villains don’t. The romantic comedy was born from showing the awkward and socially inept attempting relationships.

Cupid is the Producers, the watering can is the show, and the little hears may or may not grow

Cupid is the Producers, the watering can is the show, and the little hears may or may not grow

I know, subconsciously, that is why I have been attempting for the better part of my post pubescent life to lose weight. I absolutely think that I will have a better chance of meeting my Mr. if I was the “ideal” weight. Is that realistic? No, it would take me living in the desert for a year on water only to get down to the American ideal weight. Now that I am more self-aware of what driving my actions and thought processes I’m starting to appreciate my figure as it is and just accept that I will never be out of the overweight category. Do I still eat like a mouse for two meals a day? Yes, I probably always will because at least I’ m not gaining weight.

I will always watch at least one stupid reality show to help me keep things in perspective and give me reassurance and hope for where I am in life right now. The singles on The Bachelor and the Bachelorette are all attractive and gainfully employed and yet they’re still single. So maybe I’m not actually doing anything wrong; maybe it’s just not my turn or my time to find that person yet. If someone as visually pleasing as the majority of the Bachelors and Bachelorettes could still be single at 27…30 then I’m not so far behind at 25 then I let myself think. Sure I’ll never be stunning or gorgeous, sexy or hot but that doesn’t bother me anymore. I’ll be happy just being beautiful in one person’s eyes, and that’s all that matters at the end of the day, whenever that day may be.

Will you accept this rose?

Will you accept this rose?

As you may have deduced by now I watched the finally of The Bachelorette last night, finally. The drama this season was unreal! Dez is a sweet girl, and I really hope her and Chris really found something in each other. The song that was playing during their montage was fantastic; Love and Affection by Matt White. This song just really stuck home and I look forward to the day when I can share my life with someone else, but until then I’m going to have a life; happiness and memories, crazy and real. No regrets.

So Bucket List item #3 I would say I’ve accomplished! Bring on Reality!

Love and Affection by: Matt White

Guess I’ll be waitin’ for the time that I’m sayin’
That I’m ready to come back home
While the world seems so crazy and you’re angry
And I tell you this is rightfully so

All our friends are gettin’ married
And they’re happy and they’re sappy
Even though they might be feelin’ so old
And when I’m feeling so lonely and you tell me
That you love just for my soul and then I’ll sing

I will offer you love and affection
And all of my warmth and protection
It is just you and I against the world

And fallin’ down she said she’d cry with me
I don’t know what I said to cause the tension
And all the problems with the money
It’s so funny cuz I don’t care ‘bout it nothin’ at all
Oh we came together we were lovin’ on the table
We were lovin’ on the floor
We were lovin’ where it’s able

And all the words and the wild nights we spent
And the spoonin’ and the fire
Then you look at me and I say

I will offer you love and affection
And all of my warmth and protection
It will be you and I against the world

Oh baby
It’ll be you and I against the world

Let’s spend the days doin’ nothin’
Nothin’ to say or worry
This could be startin’ somethin’
Don’t have to end this story…
I… I…. oh…

I will offer you love and affection
And all of my warmth and protection
It is just you and I against the world

Oh… Tell me baby
It is just you and I against the world
Oh… Oh… Will you tell me
It is just you and I against the world
Oh-waa

 

Leave a Reply

