Ready for the “set up”

25 Sep

images (1) You read right…I am asking officially to be set up. I have rationalized staying single, glamorize single life, danced around the subject and came up with every excuse I can think of to avoid dating; aka rejection.

No one likes rejection, especially where the heart is concerned. I certainly don’t. But if I want to find someone to hang out with, attend the dreaded family event with, vacation or just watch movies with a pizza…I need to pull my head out of the denial sand and ask for help.

So this is me…asking….officially…I need help.

This “idea” or realization came to me when I got a comment on a post from a fellow blogger. She is going on 30 blind dates by letting her family and friends each set her up on one…genius. I don’t know how to meet guys and like my mom has been saying for years the best way to meet someone outside of internet dating and the bar scene is to be set up.

My problem has always been swallowing my pride an asking. I have a couple of times in a joking/passing kind of way an always got a “I don’t know anyone” in response. I’m hoping that doesn’t happen again and I’m hoping I make some new friends and have some fun because I certainly don’t always want to be the solo act, the lone ranger, the always good for a laugh single friend.

So I promise to keep an open mind and be myself…let me know if you know of anyone who meets some of the following suggestions:

  1. mid twenties to early thirties
  2. male
  3. straight
  4. educated (preferably college since my college experience was incredibly important to me)
  5. employed (preferably not at a gas station or fast food restaurant)
  6. kind
  7. funny
  8. beefy (not really into super skinny guys)
  9. not Amish (sorry just to many cultural differences)
  10. likes cartoons especially Scooby Doo
  11. likes to travel; see and do new things

images

I have several things left on my Bucket List so you have some time!

3 Responses to “Ready for the “set up””

  1. sexandthecincy September 25, 2013 at 2:20 PM #

    Very interesting…I never thought to go about dating like this. Maybe I’ll try it! I look forward to reading about your dating journey!

    • jamielynnneal September 25, 2013 at 2:24 PM #

      Yeah no guarantee it will work…but it’s worth a shot.

  2. jamielynnneal September 27, 2013 at 8:08 PM #

    That is so kind, thank you!

Leave a Reply

