The problem with growing up

7 Nov

images (1)Life is one big circle right? We are born and need help to survive, we learn to keep ourselves alive as we grow older, and we then take responsibility for helping keep our children alive until they are capable of doing it themselves. Then we get old and need help to survive. But what’s beginning to change as money continues to be tight for many people, the best solution they have is to keep their parents at home with them instead of putting them into some kind of assisted living facility.

This generation issue is going on in my family right now. I’m a millennial still living at home because I can’t afford rent, and my grandpa currently lives with one of my mom’s siblings. As his health begins to decline we are all faced with what to do for him. He’s not interested in an assisted living program even if we could afford it; so now we are faced with finding a home health aide, renovations to get a bathroom on the main level, and an increasingly angry old man who doesn’t want to be taken care of even if he needs to be.

All of the drama surrounding this situation is just unreal; family accusing family of not doing or caring enough. It makes me angry and sad we are supposed to be family right? Well it certainly doesn’t feel like it especially with my extended “family”.

imagesI know that a lot of people have found themselves faced with this same situation and while I’m sure there are people who actually don’t care, and who aren’t contributing what it boils down to is no one knows what to do, and if they do they don’t want to give up their own freedom to do it. Taking care of an ageing parent has got to be one of the hardest things a family can go through. You love them and you want to do everything you can but you’re still trying to lead a life of your own.

I’ll be honest watching my grandpa’s health deteriorate scares me, I love him and I am sad to see him getting older, but what scares me is thinking about what it will be like when I’m in this situation. Will my sisters and I treat each other as badly as my mom’s siblings are? Will my mom and dad start to get sick in their 70’s or will they be okay well into their 90’s? The whole process of getting older is upsetting; it’s just life, I know…but I don’t ever want to lose my parents.

2 Responses to “The problem with growing up”

  1. jessicalmartinez2 November 8, 2013 at 2:41 AM #

    Hey! I nominated your blog for the Liebster Award! For more info check out my blog here:
    http://cosmosandlouboutins.wordpress.com
    Congratulations!

  2. The Passion Hunt November 10, 2013 at 4:32 AM #

    It’s a really tough topic, isn’t it? I work in seniors health care and there are so many difficult issues that people often avoid talking about… They’re uncomfortable!

Leave a Reply

