Terrible Habit

22 Nov

skeleton_spying_on_victorian_lady_vintage_goth_art_postcard-re65832822ae54b75b14f0700df3aa298_vgbaq_8byvr_512For years now I’ve been a neck cracker, I started off having to use my palm to force my neck over to crack. Now all I have to do is turn my head and kind of jolt it to make it crack. And boy does it feel good. My neck has this buildup of pressure that just nags and nags and then CRACK the pressure is gone you feel nice an loose and can move on with what you were doing.

Until you get the buildup of pressure again and have to crack again, and again, and again. After my car accident this just got worse. unbearable worse. So I’ve been going to the chiropractor and that’s been quite lovely. Except between visits when the pressure builds back up. CRACK.

I know it’s bad to crack your neck  yourself, I’ve been told a dozen times. But its more than a habit I’d say it’s more of an addiction; to be completely honest. Cracking your neck makes you feel better. And I think that any behavior that is detrimental to your health that you do anyway is an addiction.

So for the past 2 weeks or so I’ve been actively working on NOT cracking my neck. And I tell you what it’s total misery. I’m sitting here typing this wishing I could crack my neck because the pressure is so bad. I keep telling myself that each day I don’t do it is one day closer to not needing to do it.

What habit do you have that you know is bad for you but you just can’t help yourself?

One Response to “Terrible Habit”

  1. The Passion Hunt November 23, 2013 at 1:44 AM #

    And the more you think about it, the more you probably wanna do it! I always pick away a pt my fingernails…. And then they never grow, haha!

Leave a Reply

