Thankful For

28 Nov

thanksgivingvintageclipart - Copy

A lot of people have used this month as a month to reflect on things they have to be thankful for. Every day on Facebook I see posts that friends have expressed the things they are thankful for; everything from health and family, to friends and experiences that year. At the time when most people started to do this I was in a pretty bad mood and thought to myself that I didn’t have 30 things to be thankful for. This is a pretty crapy thing to think. So I’m going to list 30 things I’m thankful for now.

People I’m thankful for:

  1. My mom, just like any mom she can sometimes be annoying but I am so beyond lucky to have her. She is my biggest cheerleader, my hug after a bad day, my silly dance after a good one. She’s the best mom anyone could ask for, with so many of my friends so far away she’s been my accomplice to many a dinner, shopping trips, and movies.
  2. My dad, I’ve learned so much from him. The past two years have been short weekends of hard work but how many girls out there can use a drill, saw, nail gun…etc.? How many girls even know what a banjo is? And no I’m not talking about the hillbilly instrument. He’s really given me the tools to be self reliant.
  3. My older sister, because she is a great person to go to for advice, chances are she experienced the same thing I am just a couple years before me. Plus she lets me help with artsy projects which I don’t get to do much of anymore.
  4. My younger sister, surprised? Yeah I am too….okay not really, I mean it. She is one person who can make my

thanksgiving-clipart-3blood boil fast then I can blink. But she’s at least teaching me how to control my temper, always a positive. When we were at school together she was so much fun, homework sessions, swimming in the school fountain running back to our dorm soaked, and watching her get initiated into my beloved Phi Mu was so special. I’m hoping she snaps out of this person she currently is and becomes the little sister she once was; because that girl I miss a lot.

  1. My big, aka Amo, aka Ashley. She’s definitely my best friend she knows all my insanity and my crazy ideas,  and all the insane in betweens but still loves me and to have someone choose to love you through all your nutter quantities is pretty special.
  2. My elementary school best friend, we were friends the first day I arrived in 4th grade and we have been friends ever since, we both went through a bunch of educational trials but we went through them together and both went onto graduate college; something that wasn’t a given for us. We have had some serious miles between us ever since we graduated high school but it doesn’t matter I know we will always be there for each other.
  3. My Phi Mu sisters, this one I’ll leave general because my Delta Phi chapter sisters at Ashland University were the sisters who really apart of my life every day but I’m thankful for the organization and its young founders. The initiation ceremony, our creed, and values have really enhanced my life, Greek Life is definitely more than a party, even though its fun too the development of better women is really what is so special.

Pet’s I’m thankful for:Thanksgiving-Chef-VintageGraphicsFairy1

  1. Maggie aka Doodle– she’s the best dog; so sweet and loving, insanely smart and always makes you feel lighter after a bad day.
  2. Sophie, our first cat and our first loss, it was hard but I’m so glad we had her as long as we did.
  3. Zoe, competently hilarious and very loving and attached to us, unusual for a cat but I think that’s because she was a rescue and she understood we gave her a better life.
  4. Peanut, the most hyper dog you ever met but she was so beautiful and was bouncing around up until her old age took her away.
  5. Gabby, shes my cat and I mean my cat when I say it; she doesn’t like anyone but me, however she is starting to really enjoy the company when we let doodle out to play.

Experiences I’m thankful for:thanks1

  1. Being in “special ed” as a kid. Being dyslexic is a pain in the butt, and I hated being in a separate classroom from other kids my age but I know without a doubt it really made me who I am today. I don’t take “not possible” seriously, I know how to work harder to get where I need to be, and I value education because it really does enhance your life. Its something that can never be taken away from you.
  2. Graduating with a Bachelors degree. College wasn’t easy, I had to study, and study and study and then just have to be happy with the B’s. But I did it, I went to school, I worked hard, I was able to contribute and participate in several organizations and at the end of the day I walked away with memories, friends, and a degree.
  3. Helping build our home has been amazing I’m learning a lot and I love being able to look at something I helped to create; it’s a tangible achievement.
  4.  Learning how to drive: love the freedom.
  5. flying it’s amazing to look down at our country; you really get just how big the world is an how small you are.
  6.  Swimming in the ocean everyone should do it at least once in their life; just don’t freak out chances are the thing that just touched your leg was a log.
  7. Being a citizen of the United States of America; I’ve said it before I think I live in an amazing country with an amazing system full of potential.
  8. My car accident earlier this year; I’m adding this one for a couple of reasons, I’m thankful I wasn’t hurt and I’m pretty sure that’s because I had someone looking out for me, I like to think it was my Grandma Billingsley. I’m also thankful for the car accident because it taught me first hand that you can’t trust insurance companies and to always get a lawyer don’t even think about trying to handle it on your own.

Random things I’m thankful for:1583249_orig

  1. Chocolate- its amazing and delicious.
  2. The color pink, it makes me happy, end of story.
  3. Jeepy- my four wheel drive Jeep is incredible! I’m a Jeep Girl for life.
  4. My job- experience and a paycheck, a lot of people don’t have the privilege of either.
  5. Being single- I’m able to focus on making myself a better person, a happy, well rounded, and  accomplished person.
  6. My bed- its warm and soft and pretty and squishy and wonderful and now I’m thinking I need a nap.
  7. WordPress- because its provided me an outlet for my writing.
  8. Cute plus size clothing– not everyone is thin! You shouldn’t punish the heavy, curvy, and big boned by making us wear ugly clothing. Our money spends the same fashion industry, just an FYI encase you didn’t know.
  9. The seasons, I hate the winter but I know that the warm weather will roll back around.
  10. Life: I’m thankful I get to make choices, decisions, mistakes, and wins because they’re mine.

I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving and have many things to be thankful for as well.

One Response to “Thankful For”

  1. The Passion Hunt December 1, 2013 at 8:16 PM #

    I love this! Lots to be thankful for in your life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

