It’s That Time Of Year

20 Dec

Christmas Post cards and Pictures 030Christmas, ohhhh Christmas. What a frustrating holiday. Yeah, you heard me frustrating. It’s cold, it’s snowy, I’m lacking Vitamin D because the sun has taken a vacation, and I spend the whole month stressed out. Who do I buy gifts for, how much is appropriate to spend, and what should I get?!

It’s crazy that Christmas has turned into an “I can’t wait until this is over” holiday. When I was a kid I looked forward to Christmas but, the older I got the less I liked it. Possibly because Santa was no longer real and I stopped playing with toys, but also because I started to notice I didn’t necessarily like all the people I was surrounded by anymore.

Every family has flaws but unlike the movies they don’t always pull together and be there for each other. I think that’s probably more common than the film industry portrays. The best thing you can do is decide is blood and “family” more important than your personal happiness? Because if it is you’re going to just have to deal with the crappy people, and if not? Make the conscious decision that  you don’t care if you do share similar DNA, life is too short to pretend they’re not hurtful and hateful and you want better for yourself, and one day your own family.

merrychristmasI’ve personally made that decision. I’m tired or dreading Christmas; so this year I put up decorations, enjoyed choosing gifts, and definitely enjoyed wrapping them. I’m personally trying very hard to stay happy and positive and enjoy the festivities; because you know what? You have absolutely no idea what next Christmas could be like, who will be taken away and who will be added.

As far as the gifts go? For the place where I spend the majority of my day I decided to go wif70a77f4779e786c4e636bb06df205eath a card thanking people for their help this year, a small tin of fudge for a handful of people who I interacted with very closely, and then a thoughtful, $20 or under gift for the couple of people who I interacted with directly. I feel like I’ve adequately expressed gratitude for the year, nothing too over board and nothing too small.

For my siblings I spent a little more giving them both a gift I felt they would enjoy or have a need for, for my parents I spent the most. Even though I’m 25 they still take care of a lot of things for me so I wanted them to know I appreciated them and everything they do for me.

6553610925_19d8aa4878And finally gifts for my friends; I sent a card to the sorority sisters who are wonderful friends that I don’t get to see very often, I sent a modest gift  to a very close sister, and a variety of small gifts to my best friend and sorority big sister. I also have several friends who have children so I sent them a copy of The Polar Express along with a beautiful solid brass bell.

The thing about Christmas is you should be gifting something that lets the person know you love and appreciate them, even if it’s just baked goods. For the majority of people just knowing you thought to give them something is worth more than the gift you gave them.

I hope your Christmas holiday is merry, with or without your potentially “eh” family. Try and stay positive and enjoy yourself, I know I will.

2 Responses to “It’s That Time Of Year”

  1. The Passion Hunt December 21, 2013 at 7:48 PM #

    I’ve changed to giving mostly experience gifts this year. Doing things with people just seems so much better than “stuff” sometimes!

Leave a Reply

