8 Girlfriends You Need To Have

14 Jan

imagesI found this list on one of my favorite sites,  Levo League, I found it interesting because I have this group of friends and they all have a place in my life but I’ve never really thought about where I’ve put them before…and it was without even realizing that I was doing it. Granted this doesn’t list everyone, being in a sorority adds dozens upon dozens of women that you can depend on but these were the first people to pop into my head for each category.

The Caregiver

This is the mom of your group. The friend that always has Advil and Band-Aids and takes care of you when you are sick. They are the moms we have when our moms aren’t around.

Mine is Rebecca we’ve been friends since high school and she has several older siblings with children and a very maternal nature about her, I’d say she is textbook caregiver.

079The Crazy One

We all need that friend that brings out our slightly wild side. This is the friend that has boundaries and always chooses Dare in Truth or Dare. They will always go out with you and though sometimes they make you cringe in embarrassment (especially as you get older), you need to hold on to these. They will remind you to be spontaneous (though I suppose that defeats the purpose.)

Mine is Kelsey we have been friends since 4th grade she has always been crazy and fun. She is the first one to decide things are a little to blah an start jumping about or making funny face, she will always be the young one that reminds the rest of us to hold on to who we were as kids.

The Rock This is the friend that you know you can call at 3 am to come pick you up if you were stranded. You can go a few months without talking but you still know they are your “in case of emergency” call. They will always be there for you.

I’d have to say this would be my biological big sister Kelly. While I was in college we didn’t talk all the much I was busy with class and organizations an she was busy with her job, school herself and a husband. But I always knew if I needed her she would be there.

hats+vintage+image+-graphicsfairy9a

The Opposite

It is great to have those friends that have a ton in common with you, but it is also really refreshing to have that friend that is completely different. You usually go to brunch on the weekend, but this one wants to go rock climbing. They make you try new things and they always keep things exciting.

I have a plethora of opposite friends and Phi Mu sisters, Sam D is my sporty wild friend who would drag me outside to play in the rain when I would normally watch it from the comfort of a blanket on the couch. Duffee, aka Amanda my college roommate, she was a theater major while I was a journalism and English major… not a whole lot of similarities between us other than our love for Phi Mu and let me tell you there is no one more fun than Duffee, some of my best memories involve her and her 3am antics.

The Lifelonger

HatLadyVintageGraphicsFairy21

We all have that friend that we have known since we were in grade school. You may have drifted apart at some point, but whenever you see each other it is like you are in the seventh grade again. You need these people in your life as they remind you where you came from and that there was a point when you thought “Saved by the Bell” was the best show on TV and Umbros looked good.

My lifelonger is Lydia we have been friends since day one of 4th grade when I moved from Colorado to Ohio. We went through some pretty classic school crap as the underdogs and came out the other side together. She’s always been the gentle, loving, relaxed one. And now she is a completely fantastic mother to 2 almost 3 of the world’s best kids and I get to be auntie Jamie!

The Cool Friend

We all need that friend that constantly makes us feel like we don’t know what the cool books or movies or bands are. They were the first to wear Uggs and watch “Breaking Bad”. You may have thought you were dressed well, but she is dressed better and she already wore that last month. They keep us on our toes and in the know.

HatLadyVintageGraphicsFairy1

This would be a fellow Phi Mu sister, Stacey- I’m actually a smidge bit older than she is but she has always been the “cool” one. I have several sisters like that, like Stacey’s big Danny-D aka Danielle D. They both just have a better grasp on what’s hip then I ever will.

The Honest One

This is the friend that will tell you when that dress with the ruffles actually is not your best look. They are not going to BS you. They will give you the truth even if it is hard.

This would have to be Brookie Bear- aka Brooke, also a Phi Mu sister (as you’ve probably noticed all my sorority sisters have nicknames) she is painfully honest and brings your silly drama back to reality. I can’t begin to say how many times this girl has reigned me back in.

hats-3The Cheerleader

Sometimes we need support no matter what. When you can’t find it anywhere else, this is the person you go to.

My cheerleader is also in every way my honest, cool friend who will be a lifelonger and my opposite, she is my best friend and my Phi Mu big sister.

The thing is a lot of my friends can be considered in several of these categories…it was almost hard to pick who should go where but I find myself very lucky to be surrounded by so many fantastic ladies, I don’t really have guy friends. Not everyone can say they have the 8 friends who will be there for them, let alone the number of friends I know I can depend on. So where would your friends fall?

Just as a side note/thought; if you find yourself concerned as to why you don’t have more close dependable friends take an honest look at yourself, the better friend you are the better friends you’ll accumulate.

Leave a Reply

