Valentine’s Day

10 Feb

col-6646.1L

Valentine’s Day is on Friday, oh joy. There are several things about Valentine’s Day I “enjoy” or at least don’t hate. I enjoy that pink is everywhere, seriously, it’s very pretty and I approve completely. I also enjoy the large quantities of chocolate as well as the scent of the flowers; all very lovely. My mom still gets chocolate for both my sisters and I which I am quite grateful for since I have this terrible habit of being single at all times.

The real story behind this holiday is bloody and brutal; a priest Saint Valentine was stoned, beaten and beheaded for performing marriages. So go ahead celebrate love in the name of the man who gave his life in the name of love.

I don’t think it would be half as annoying to be single during “holidays” if the world wasn’t so “couple” driven. It’s in every movie, every book, every TV show…love, love, love. Love: how awesome it is, love: how annoying it is, love: how destructive it is; every possible take, angle and view but it’s still there.

Even the “single” roles are portrayed as lacking in life, miserable…I bet single people would be a whole heck of a lot less miserable if society would lighten up and accept it’s not the end of the world to be single. You don’t need to fix someone because they’re single.

I would completely ignore the existence of Friday if I could but I know there are a couple of single sorority sisters out there who are just as bummed or annoyed that Friday is a day for pairs when they’re a solo act. So I’m sending a couple of them cards…haven’t decided what kind of cards yet I need to get on that though. So at least I can pass on some light and love into the dark and lonely day that this holiday has become for so many.

2 Responses to “Valentine’s Day”

  1. ashley February 11, 2014 at 12:43 PM #

    If it makes you feel any better most couples really dont care about Valentines day either. Any REAL couples anyway. Kids that are dating are cute and get their lover a single rose and take them out to dinner and whatever but I cant even remember the last time kris and I did anything for valentines day. Maybe Im just cursed because I have a husband that chronically forgets all holidays and birthdays, but dare I say V day isnt any more enjoyable for the married folk as it is for the single folk. Every year i almost think “oh maybe this is the year he will do something adorable to surprise me” and every year I am let down. At least you have low expectations coming out of the gate!

Leave a Reply

