34. 10 greatest American movies of all time # 10 & 9

24 Feb

MPW-31560

I’ll start by saying this bucket list item is going to be a process. Every other week myself and 4 friends of mine from High School, or some subset of that group, get together and watch one of the movies from the top 10 list while eating dinner.

I am a big fan of theme parties, they make the party feel more festive somehow, that I’ll admit is the sorority girl in me coming out. Also using the movie as a base theme for the party is not only more festive it’s easier to suggest things for dinner.

So far we have watched 2 movies, going in reverse order on the list. So number ten. The Wizard of Oz 1939. For this movie we had mac an cheese (yellow brick road) PB & J, because it goes well with the mac an cheese, and cupcakes dyed red for the ruby slippers. It sounds kinda lame I know, but it was fun; pretty sure we did more talking then watching of the movie though! Also, in case you wanted to watch this it’s not on Netflix, you can buy one at Wal-Mart for $10 though.

vertigo1599pd5

Number nine: Vertigo 1958 (we rented through Amazon for like $3). For this one we decided to have our dinner biased off the fact that the main character was a retired cop: drum roll please….we had doughnuts! Hahah, we also made scrambled eggs and sausage so it wasn’t literally just doughnuts for dinner. By the way this movie, by Alfred Hitchcock, was fantastic! More than once we were shouting at the TV “WHAT IS GOING ON?!”

So that’s 2/10 of my Bucket List item checked off! Full list of the top 10 movies of all time (by the AFI):

  1. Citizen Kane 1941
  2. The Godfather 1972
  3. Casablanca 1942
  4. Raging Bull 1980
  5. Singin’ in the Rain 1952
  6. Gone with the Wind 1939
  7. Lawrence of Arabia 1962
  8. Schindler’s List 1993
  9. Vertigo 1958
  10. Wizard of Oz 1939
4 Responses to “34. 10 greatest American movies of all time # 10 & 9”

  1. Shonna February 24, 2014 at 6:54 PM #

    I think I have maybe seen three of those top ten movies…Wizard of Oz for sure, pieces of The Godfather and we actually just watched Raging Bull the other day. Not very good at all in my opinion. It was listed as one of the best all time sports movies but I thought it was boring and it didn’t seem to have much of a plot or story line. Just my opinion! You’ve inspired to watch the others the list now though!!

    • jamielynnneal February 24, 2014 at 9:28 PM #

      Awesome! Let me know if you like any, Gone With The Wind is my FAVORITE the book is amazing, movie is very good.

      • Shonna February 25, 2014 at 11:46 PM #

        Ok, I’m gonna have to see it!! I’ll let you know what I think!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 34. 10 greatest American movies of all time # 8 & 7 | A Single Girls Journey to a Life of NO regrets - March 21, 2014

    […] If you would like to hear about movies number 9 and 10 check out my previous post, same title, here. […]

Leave a Reply

