Hazing.

28 Feb

83b226d4d4f68aafbd03ac0ec8ad46dbI am a proud Greek Life member. I had a positive loving experience though my sorority membership that has continued from new member, to active member to alumnae. I’ve have taken the function of Greek Life seriously from day zero, and I’m not even exaggerating. Before I went through recruitment I read every chapters creed and chose two that I felt aligned with my personality, goals, and beliefs; from the two I chose the chapter of women that felt like home.

From there I was guided through new membership with love and respect. Not once did my sisters do anything near inappropriate. So when I’m watching the news and hear that a fraternity in Ohio had placed a new member in the hospital because the beat him so severely I become beyond disappointed more like disgusted.

For those of you reading this that are not a member of Greek life let me apologize for these boys, and I do mean boys. I can assure you that not all Greek Life members are that disrespectful and argh! I don’t even have the words to describe how frustrating it is to see something so beloved and honest and true represented in such a heinous way.

I called into the radio station that was talking about this particular issue this morning and I’m frustrated because the host didn’t believe that the boys should be facing criminal charges and they absolutely should. It’s illegal, it’s immoral, and it’s not in line with the beliefs and values you pledge to uphold.

The truth is that Greek Life is leadership experience, life skills, lifelong friendships, support, love, academics, philanthropy, fun, memories, I could go on and on.

But don’t take my work for it look at the facts Greek Life members not only accomplish more in their lives but they give more to their communities. The majority of the Presidents of the United States were Greek, current CEOs of major corporations are Greek, astronauts, authors, actors…you can accomplish great things through the support and skills gained through Greek Life.

So don’t haze the future leaders of this world and don’t accept hazing as part of the process.

Alright, I am done ranting now.

2 Responses to “Hazing.”

  1. Michael February 28, 2014 at 4:11 PM #

    Excellent article on one of the worst stereotypes of Greek Life.

Leave a Reply

