#wbn2014

23 Apr

775ee409c7b6d5386673f2f5b9805bb4I am an avid reader, I always have a book in my handbag, I have a running list of books I want to read, a stack of books in my room I purchased when the bookstore near me closed and I usually listen to books on CD in the car; the radio gets old after a while.

While I adore to read I don’t read as often as I would like, there just isn’t enough time in the day! Books are also a comfort for me, if you see me re-reading the Harry Potter series for the 20 something time then you know I’m super stressed about something and looking for my old friends to hide me in their world for a little while.

If you’re not a big reader its because you haven’t found your gateway book yet. There is a book out there for everyone that once they read it they truly understand the beautiful process of reading and then are more open to other books. That book for me was the Sorcerer’s Stone when I was 10 or 11. I bet if you are a reader your gateway book popped into your head as soon as I used that phrase, am I right?

20140423-104151.jpgSo if you are a reader, or if you aren’t here is your chance to start; tonight is World Book Night, check out their website here for some book suggestions if you need them, if you have a book sitting next to you like I do right now take some time tonight to read a couple of chapters.

World Book Night is an annual celebration dedicated to spreading the love of reading, person to person.  Each year on April 23, tens of thousands of people go out into their communities and give half a million free World Book Night paperbacks to light and non-readers.

World Book Night is about giving books and encouraging reading in those who don’t regularly do so. But it is also about more than that: It’s about people, communities and connections, about reaching out to others and touching lives in the simplest of ways—through the sharing of stories. Check out there website here for more information on how you can get involved.

Set some time aside tonight to read then blog, Tweet, Facebook, or Instagram that you did using #wbn2014.

Happy reading everyone.

Leave a Reply

