34. 10 greatest American movies of all time # 4 & 3

28 May

wYzYTDtV0bDjch4kYhMFhhZmy36Another duo of Great American Movies  and another step closer to the end of this particular bucket list item. I have to say adding this adventure to my bucket list was an outstanding idea, I want to save my full thoughts for the final post to conclude number 34. so I will stop there.

Number four on the top ten List was Raging Bull…this movie was not at all my taste. Boxing just isn’t my thing, or my friends. Overall the movie was as expected; violent. What wasn’t expected was that the movie was started during WWII which, surprisingly, had no effect on the film. The main complaint I had with this film was how the main character treated his family, people in general, and more specifically his wife(s). He was a crappy husband even if he was a good fighter, and to be honest that’s probably why he was such a crappy husband. I don’t see how this movie made The Top 10 Greatest American Movies of All Time list at all. The majority of the movie my self and my friends spent the time talking about how Robert Deniro didn’t look at all like himself.

CasablancaPoster-GoldThe movie we watched tonight, Casablanca, was very good. We watched this movie with my mom who has this quirky little habit of looking up the actors of the film we are currently watching on Google; what else they were in, if they have famous children or parents…you get the picture. So the beginning of the movie was basically lost to me. None the less, I love black and white films, and it was a very non-typical romance story which was very refreshing.  I think I will have to re-watch this one before I return it to the library.

I am sad to see this bucket list item almost concluded but it has been a total blast and we are planning on continuing the bi-weekly movie night with another list of movies we wouldn’t of normally watched.

The full Top 10 List of Greatest American Movies of All Time:

1. “Citizen Kane,” 1941.
2. “The Godfather,” 1972.
3. “Casablanca,” 1942.
4. “Raging Bull,” 1980.
5. “Singin’ in the Rain,” 1952.
6. “Gone With the Wind,” 1939.
7. “Lawrence of Arabia,” 1962.
8. “Schindler’s List,” 1993.
9. “Vertigo,” 1958.
10. “The Wizard of Oz,” 1939.

Leave a Reply

