Average

30 Jul

Jim-RohnA friend of mine said something interesting the other night: “you are the average of the 5 people you spend the most time with”

It’s one of those things that you feel, you know that you’re becoming a better person when you’re around good people, and a less then awesome person when you’re around crappy ones…something that not many people put into such simple terms.

I totally and completely agree. I know that I am a better person, a happier, more thoughtful, productive person because I make a conscious choice to only allow good people around me. I’ve talked about this before; that I’ve cut the negative, toxic people out of my life. And because of that things have been immeasurably improved.

14b20ac20d663d5bade90e8b002d07c5I have people in my life that I love that have chosen to surround themselves with drains on society, people who are selfish and who feel that they are owed something without doing anything positive in this world. It’s sad and annoying and I hate to see their lives so drastically changed.

I’d compare this massive personality shift to an alcoholic or addict. I know its extreme but when the people you love suddenly forget their family, their passions and hobbies in exchange for chaos; the party the “carefree life” financed by others, and not just monetary but it is the draining of love, respect, joy and memories.

Surround yourself with good people or risk becoming the average of crap.

Leave a Reply

