Half Done

9 Sep

woman_writing2I was taking a look at my bucket list today and realized I am almost exactly half done with it…kinda crazy. And there are a few things on that list that I’ve done but haven’t blogged about; not really sure why not. Guess I just feel like I need to do it better to count as being completed.

As of today I have 38 things on my bucket list, I have officially finished and blogged about 17 of them, after this post anyway.

13. Spend an entire day with a friend who has kids (for some much needed perspective on how wonderfully tranquil your life really is at this point)

I’ve been spending a ton of time with a friend who is married with a one and a half year old. We have been friends for 16 years now and she lives six miles away from me, so we still hang out a ton. I’ve been on shopping trips with a happy baby, and a not so happy baby. I’ve watched movies with a toddler who is able to entertain himself, and movies where he can’t.  I’ve been with him on days when he couldn’t possibly be in a better mood and days…well days where he wasn’t.

I’ve seen so many different angles, sides and situations of being a parent of a young child and it’s not easy. It’s not at all easy, and as I’ve gotten older I went from assuming I’d have kids because that’s “what you do” to not so sure I want kids at all; at least not for a while anyway.  I’m perfectly happy being the aunt who can hang out, good days or bad days, and love them anyway but still get to go back to doing whatever I want, whenever I want, at the end of the day.

11. Let your friends set you up (and have an open mind about it)

I’m not going to go into a ton of detail about this particular number on my bucket list, but I’ll say this: I did let a friend introduce me to her husbands best friend and we’ve hung out several times, totally low-key group setting and I’m glad I let her…he’s pretty great. Super nice, funny, an amazing friend, and he can cook which is perfect because I can’t…at all. I burned a pot of boiling water once.  Plus I’m pretty sure he likes me, clearly he has impeccable taste (insert laugh here).

Leave a Reply

