Social Media and the Generations

16 Nov

hand_drawn_social_media_fullI’m struggling with this gap between the different generations and their acceptance or mistrust of social media, I love social media, I love my Instagram, and my Facebook and obviously WordPress.

I grew up along side these platforms of self expression, and a means to keep in touch with friends and family far away, I love and in many ways depend on social media.

It’s my creative outlet and its my only means of communication with some people.

So when others around me have an aversion to social media, I can understand their point of view but I have a hard time really getting it. I know the negatives, its another way for bullies and stokers to abuse people and a new way to loose jobs or friends.

But I feel the positives out weight the negatives, because so much of the negatives can be controlled with self control and privacy settings.

It’s not even just a generational thing, some people my age are just as into it as I am, while others use it with less investment then myself. So I’m not really sure where the line is that causes people to fall on one side or the other.

If its not age, gender, education, location, income level, hobby related, or career related what is it? I don’t even think it’s a security or confidence thing because I feel like I am confident and secure in myself and yet I love it, so I know I am not using social media as a social crutch…

I’ve found myself with more question then answers as usual.

Leave a Reply

