Six Percent

18 Nov

royalty-free-children-clipart-illustration-1116062While watching the Today Show this morning I learned an interesting statistic; only 6% of adults are working in the job they dreamed they would have as a kid.

6%…that’s pretty low. And I get why, most kids what to be professional athletes or astronauts or the president. All of those professions have exceptionally low job openings, to say the least. That or kids want to fly…which you know we can’t exactly grow wings…

The point is it made me think; what did I want to be when I was a kid? I can’t remember. Isn’t that sad? Nothing stands out in my mind…I didn’t start to enjoy writing until I was about 12, inspired by Tom Riddle’s diary, I went out an bought a little blue fake leather journal and never looked back.

I used to also be completely enamored with the stars, but I don’t ever recall thinking I wanted to be an astronaut…possibly an astrologer but even that isn’t “what I want to be when I grow up”.

I started to enjoy taking photos when my family took a trip out to Oregon, I was around 13 maybe, to see my grandparents. I think I liked taking photos before then, but that trip really solidify photography as an enjoyable hobby that I was good at.

Maybe if I could remember what I wanted to be when I grew up I would have a better idea now what I want to be when I grow up…and even if I could remember only 6% of adults make it happen anyway…a little bit depressing if you ask me.

One Response to “Six Percent”

  1. Mama123 November 19, 2014 at 1:32 PM #

    Honestly James, I don’t remember either. I have always seen teacher or writer or both. Mine was to be a marine biologist living on boat on the Great Barrier Reef. Then I found out that about motion sickness. Me and boats is a no go LOL

Leave a Reply

