What do Target, Lilly, and Plus Size all have in common?

23 Jan

rage_90Rage.

There are large quantities of rage being dished out in the past several days and all because women are upset about Target offering Lilly Pulitzer clothes.

2000px-Target_logo.svgTo start off Target announced that it will be offering a line of more economically priced Lilly Pulitzer clothes. If you know me or have read previous posts then you know I am a huge Lilly fan. I think her patterns are beautiful and her styles are classy.

I purchased one of her quarter zip tops while I was in Palm Springs (Story Here), she also has one style of dress that fits me; no zipper and forgiving fabric. So when I heard that Target was going to have a line of Lilly clothes I could not of been more excited, I just knew that would mean they would offer a few more larger sizes and I could wear more of her beautiful clothing.

I was half right anyway.Target-Tweet

Then I started to read some of the hateful comments blowing up twitter on the topic. Check out a R29 article on the appalling behavior from girls clamming you can only be classy if you pay the high prices of true Southern Lilly. Sorry ladies, if you’re going to throw a tantrum spewing hate because of this then you weren’t classy to begin with.

I wonder what they think about the plus sizes?

Lilly-Pulitzer-LogoThe Target/Lilly partnership then gets better. Plus size options will only be available on Target.com. I don’t get why business hide their plus size lines. Large portions of the American population are considered over weight, many “plus size” which in the fashion industry is anything over a size 8. So why hide clothes in shame for women who wear plus size clothing?

Does our money not spend the same?

Do we not have to wear clothing for work, school, and life?

What is so wrong with having a larger size available on the rack in a store where we can try it on before we buy it? People are overweight for a lot of reasons; medical, emotional, genetics, their desk jobs…and yet the fashion industry doesn’t think these overweight people hate and shame themselves enough.

imagesSo they offer fewer plus size choices.

They offer plus size choices only online.

They slap skulls and beading on majority of plus size tops.

I want NORMAL clothes in bigger sizes, I want to buy those clothes in a store. I don’t want to feel unworthy of pretty clothes because of my weight.

Is that too much to ask?

Check out a R29 article on Lilly, Target and Plus Size clothing HERE.

6 Responses to “What do Target, Lilly, and Plus Size all have in common?”

  1. Paulina Martin January 23, 2015 at 9:28 PM #

    Love this article. I wear a size 10 in Lilly {making me plus size in the fashion industry}, and I am perfectly healthy! Sad standards 😦 Thanks for sharing your opinion 🙂 I am excited for Lilly to premiere in Target!
    -Paulina http://www.paulinamartin.com

    • jamielynnneal January 23, 2015 at 9:40 PM #

      I read your post about it too, I’m so excited! Thanks for commenting! I see you’re still in High School, if you plan on going to college GO GREEK! I’ll write you a reference letter for Phi Mu if you need one!

      • Paulina Martin January 23, 2015 at 9:41 PM #

        I am completely planning on joining a sorority in college! It seems like an awesome experience 🙂 Thanks so much for the offer!

      • jamielynnneal January 23, 2015 at 9:44 PM #

        Oh good!!! It truly, truly is! I am still so close to my sisters, I have the best memories when sisters are involved! No matter what though hazing isn’t okay, remember that! Choose a chapter that is very clear on anti hazing policies.

      • Paulina Martin January 23, 2015 at 9:46 PM #

        Of course 🙂 I want to join a sisterhood of fun and accepting girls, not just mean girls looking to belittle the new recruits.

      • jamielynnneal January 23, 2015 at 9:48 PM #

        Exactly! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

