The Tiny House: Wall Rehab 

1 Aug

img_2073The walls in campers are just standard gross. Gross texture, gross cheap thin paneling in a…you guessed it; gross wood tone somewhere between orange and sun-faded wood tones.

Spray paint is costly and time-consuming to paint all the walls. I’m about sick to death of painting after doing all the cabinets. So the idea of taping and painting the walls…no thanks. Plus everything would be a new color of boring flat monotone.

I want to add some interest to help break up all the white cabinets.

After doing some research I found a great way to add some color and interest to my walls: beachwood wallpaper.

In order to make the wallpaper look it’s best all the walls need to be striped of screws, nailed, brackets, and trim. Then take a wood filler and fill any and all holes left by what was removed.

Once that’s dry sand everything. Wood paneling is essentially plastic so adding a little rough texture will help the wallpaper stick.

After sanding everything wash all the walls. Nothing will stick to a layer of dust.

Follow the steps that come with the wallpaper and your result will be extra interest, color, texture, and character in a small space!

I did two walls with this paper and brush painted two others a coordinating blue color. I finished the whole look off by painting spray the window trim white.

5 Responses to “The Tiny House: Wall Rehab ”

  1. Sarah September 11, 2016 at 6:38 PM #

    What color paints did you use?

  2. jamielynnneal September 11, 2016 at 6:39 PM #

    I took the wallpaper in and had them color match the blue.

  3. Elizabeth Haus September 13, 2016 at 11:28 AM #

    How fun! I totally found you on Amazon, looking at the same wallpaper to cover…our travel trailer walls. Lol. We’re planning on driving down from Alaska through Colorado (kids/grands) to Texas (inlaws) and into Florida (my dad). Basically, we’re on tour to visit family and friends. It might take all winter!! Much luck to you in your own special little home. It looks amazing so far. 🙂

    • jamielynnneal September 13, 2016 at 11:56 AM #

      Awe that’s awesome thank you!! I love Colorado, visiting Alaska is on my bucket list for sure! Have an amazing time!

  4. emilys72016 January 16, 2017 at 1:32 PM #

    I also found you through your Amazon review of the Wallpops Nuwallpaper. I am about to buy the Beechwood pattern as well for my motorhome bedroom. I am planning to do the bottom half of the walls to cover up the old border, and I will paint the top half in a blue to match. Actually, I’ll paint first so I can be sloppy about the bottom edge! I love what you’ve done in your bathroom and thank you for the inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

