#44 Buy A Kayak & Use It!

22 Aug

IMG_2326 (1)Bucket List Item #44 Buy A Kayak & Use It!

I’ve been talking about buying a kayak since day one of living in Florida. That was a year ago.

Last week I was walking around Wal-Mart collecting my weekly stash of supplies when I saw a blue Sun Dolphin kayak on sale for about $100 less than normal…and it was the last one. I bought the roof kit months ago and I’ve been thinking about it for a while so I just went for it.

I bought a kayak….finally! And this past weekend I loaded it up and drove it to the Fort Pierce Causeway bright and early in the morning.

I’ll admit…it took me a minute to get acclimated, plus I went alone so I didn’t venture too far out of the “shallow” swimming section of the water.

IMG_2332Buying and using a kayak for the first time was awesome but…that’s not the most exciting part of this adventure. While I was out paddling around minding my own business enjoying the calm water, warm bright sun on my skin and totally lost in thought I saw something brown pop out of the water next to me and snort.

Snort.

Nearly gave me a heart attack until I realized what it was. A baby sea cow; aka a manatee! She (or he) was just chillin’ on the sandy bottom. I already had momentum so I couldn’t stop and the result was I paddled right over mom. Thank goodness she didn’t decide to come up for air she could have tipped me over.

Seeing something so beautiful just out living it’s life like that completely overcame me and I started to cry. Total dork I know.

Of course I need to try to get a picture of this so I reach into the compartment behind me and get out my phone and paddle back to where I saw the mom and her baby. I was able to get a couple of pictures though admittedly they aren’t very good.

Start to finish an absolutely amazing bucket list experience!

One Response to “#44 Buy A Kayak & Use It!”

  1. midcenturycurves August 23, 2016 at 12:00 AM #

    I love manatees. My college roommate studies biology, and manatees are one of her research interests. 🙂

Leave a Reply

