Tiny House: Miracle 

16 Oct

Confirmation that The Scooby Shack was still standing the day after the hurricane left the Treasure Coast.

The eye of Hurricane Mathew stayed off the coast of southern Florida downgrading from a category 4 to about a category 2 hurricane when it hit the treasure coast.

I had so many people; friends, family, friends of family, friends of friends, students, coworkers and strangers praying and keeping positive thoughts for my Scooby Shack. 

I was fighting the paralyzing “what if’s” I didn’t know what I’d do if I lost the camper…hotel until I could find a place to rent, stay with a friend, give up and move back home…I wasn’t in a good place.

But I had two of the most important people in the world to me telling me over and over “I know it’s going to be okay, I just have a feeling, I can feel it in my bones…”

They were right and I got lucky.

I’m not a religious person; spiritual and living my life with good morals yes, but not religious. That’s a whole other conversation. So when I say it is a miracle that I still have my Scooby Shack it’s because there is no other explanation. Winds were strong enough to rip boats out of the water across the street from me but a pair of scissors I left on the bumper and cheap flip-flops I left on the stairs were still where I left them when I got back.

Luck? Answered prayers? Happenstance?

Miracle. noun. A surprising and welcome event that is not explicable by natural or scientific laws and is therefore considered to be the work of a divine agency.

-post 3 of 3-

6 Responses to “Tiny House: Miracle ”

  1. Life's Happy Highlights October 17, 2016 at 3:11 PM #

    Wow, what an amazing story! I’m so glad both you and the Scooby Shack are okay! Matthew was scary, I have family in Florida but thankfully they ended up okay too.

    Thank you so much for sharing your home and it’s story with the world. I love seeing people’s tiny dreams come true. I’m very interested in tiny homes myself – so much so that I’ve centered my thesis on tiny homes. I’m a Corporate and Public Communications graduate student at Monmouth University interested in studying the sense of community inspired by Tiny House Communities (THC). For the purposes of my study, I am looking specifically at how people communicate about tiny houses, what the community does for them, and why they choose to get involved with the movement. If you could spare a few mins to complete my survey, your insight would be much welcome! You can find the survey at the link below:

    https://monmouthpolling.co1.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_6PTVeWKLsH1j4QR

    I can’t wait to see whats next for you and The Shack! 🙂

    • jamielynnneal October 17, 2016 at 3:35 PM #

      How cool! I’ll do the survey now, what a great idea! Thank you!

      • Life's Happy Highlights October 17, 2016 at 3:39 PM #

        Thank you so much! I really appreciate your help 🙂

      • jamielynnneal October 17, 2016 at 3:56 PM #

        For sure! All done, I’d love to read your thesis when you’re done!!

      • Life's Happy Highlights October 17, 2016 at 4:04 PM #

        I’d love to share some of my most interesting findings, glad to know I’d have an interested audience 🙂 Good luck with the rest of your semester!

      • jamielynnneal October 17, 2016 at 4:16 PM #

        For sure, you too!

Leave a Reply

